Powerhouse History

An Industrial Start



In 1892, the FirstEnergy Powerhouse was built to provide power for the Woodland and Westside Street Railway Company. The 
West Side Railroad Co. was the first Cleveland streetcar line to run west of the Cuyahoga River and carried passengers from Superior and Vineyard St. to the Flats, then across the river on the Center Street Bridge. The line looped out to Detroit Shoreway and back through Ohio City towards the Market and back down into the valley.

With the massive proliferation of the automobile during the 1920s, streetcars were no longer necessary and the plant closed. The building became home to a barrel reconditioning plant and later a warehouse. Over time, the Powerhouse was abandoned and sat deteriorating until Jacobs Entertainment, Inc. purchased and renovated the building in the 1980’s. Today the FirstEnergy Powerhouse is on the list of National Register of Historic Buildings.

The restored FirstEnergy building and its industrial architecture bestow an impressive loft-like appeal with three unique rooms with spectacular views. The urban ambiance, high ceilings, exposed brick and waterfront views have established the building as one of Cleveland’s premier event venues.


Jacobs Entertainment, Inc.

Windows on the River & More

Jacobs Entertainment, Inc. is the owner/developer of the Nautica Waterfront District which includes the FirstEnergy Powerhouse, Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Windows on the River, Lady Caroline and Jacobs Pavilion.

To provide a fun and exciting entertainment experience to our guests through exceptional service and value.